Tasty High Protein Vegan Pancakes+talk about macronutrients

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

pancake2.jpgGetting enough protein on a plant based diet can sometimes be troublesome for a lot of people. I often find it difficult to add a protein source at every meal as I more often than not will not have some tofu or tempeh stored in the fridge.

For me personally, protein is important for satiety. When I don’t eat enough protein, I find myself looking through cupboards after a meal and having a bite of this and a bite of that. I simply do not feel satisfied. Do you know this feeling? I feel like there is alot of emphasis on carbohydrates, bur not alot of emphasis on protein or fats on a plant based diet. I highly recommend eating enough protein and fats for satiety and vitamin absorption.

Fat may be more energy dense than carbohydrates or protein, but if you add some to every meal, you will find yourself being more satisfied and eating less overall. (If that is your aim).

After a purchased vegan protein powder, I found it a lot easier to get in protein at every meal. You can keep protein powder in the cupboard and have it on hand for whenever you think you are lacking protein.

pancake photo 2.jpg

Today I am sharing a delicious recipe for vegan protein pancakes. It is only 5 ingredients and very wholesome and tasty. In addition, for those of you IIFYM people there is 20 grams of protein per serving! You will need a high quality vegan protein powder for this. I use Sun warrior vanilla protein and I recommended you to use one that is vanilla flavoured as well.

I saw a lot of high protein vegan YouTubers and body builders making this type of pancake and I was inspired to make my own. Even though I’m not a body builder, I still make these pancakes often and enjoy them more than regular pancakes. I have adjusted the liquid ratio to make sure these pancakes do not end up raw on the inside.

I eat these pancakes with a cauliflower and swede soup and simple salad as brunch. I don’t have time to make these on weekdays.


Vegan Protein Pancakes

pancake2

Serves Two or One if you are a pancake monster who wants to get gains then you will get 40 grams of protein. Woo.

Ingredients

90 grams whole grain rolled oats/regular oats

30g vegan vanilla protein powder

1/2 medium sized banana

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/4 cup almond milk/ water or a mixture of both

Toppings:

Fresh, seasonal fruit (I’m in NZ and the only thing I had was apples)

Maple syrup

Nuts, seeds, ground flaxseed, coconut etc

Instructions:

Add all you pancake ingredients into your Vita-mix/blender/food processor and blend it up!

Let your batter sit for 5-10 minutes to thicken up. This is important or the pancakes will be raw on the inside when you fry it.

After 5-10 minutes, add a few tsp of water to adjust consistency. Batter should be thick but pourable.

Heat a non stick frying pan on medium heat. Pour pancake batter onto pan and fry for 2-3 minutes on each side.

Remove from heat and serve with maple syrup and fruits.

Cauliflower and Swede Soup

I threw this together and it tasted pretty good.

Chop up 2 cups of cauliflower into florets and 1/2 a decent sized swede into chunks. Sauté 1 garlic clove in 1/2 tsp of coconut oil in a medium sized pot. Add cauliflower, swede and 1/4 cup water. Add a pinch of salt and cumin and let the vegetables cook for a few minutes. Add 2 cups water, bring mixture to boil, cover and let it simmer for 10 minutes or until cauliflower and swede is tender (poke it with a fork). Remove pan from heat and transfer the mixture to a blender/or blend it using a stick blender.  Once mixture is blended, transfer soup to pan and heat on low heat. Add salt, pepper and chilli powder and adjust to taste.

Salad

Lettuce, tomato, shredded carrot. Toss with lemon, salt, pepper and olive oil (if you want). Sprinkle on some seeds/nutritional yeast,

Leave a Reply

